Please help me find this guy, Tho

InstagramCapture_039eca4c-5e26-4f17-b651-2091539d0e26

I should come up with better titles for my blog posts right?

Thailand is one of the countries that is in my bucket list (that is ever growing might i add) and it being about 6 hours away by land from Siem Reap plus 9 days of approved vacation , i just had to go!

After spending two days in the Siem Reap I decided to travel to Bangkok by bus. Fortunately, the hostel I stayed in was able to book me a seat in the direct bus to Bangkok (i will post another entry separately) that leaves Siem Reap at 8 am.

I arrived in Bangkok at around 7pm because of heavy traffic! The traffic was almost like what we have in Manila. The only good thing was I was comfy inside the bus. Plus it was the Loi Krathong festival

Now, a tip for travelers, don’t go to Thailand without Thai Baht in your wallet like I did. Yeah yeah, silly me wanting to travel to Bangkok with USD in my pocket. Must have been too excited to go and just thought that there would be 24 hrs money changers in the bus station. There were no money changer but there were banks which were unfortunately closed. TOINKS! So there i was in the bus terminal in a foreign country with no legal tender and i have to get to my hostel! imagine the PANIC!

As Tim Gunn would say, “make it work!”, i just tried to talk to locals and ask then if they can at least give me a ride to Khampang Phet MRT station fortunately a motorcycle driver agreed agreed but i had to pay them USD 2 which was really expensive for me but i had no choice. At Khampang Phet station, there are still no money changers so i tried to talk again to locals and ask them to give me BHT 30 in exchange of my USD 1 (conversion is normally at BHT 32 for a dollar). After talking to the 3rd person, I was feeling a bit desperate already. Finally, somebody saw me talking to the guard haggling. He approached us and asked what was the problem. I told him my predicament and he said ok and told me to follow him. He went to the ticket booth purchased his ticket and gave me TBH 30. And when i was about to give my dollar, he said that i should keep it. I had to insist but he still refused.

At this point, I realized that there are still good people out there in the world contrary to what we perceive it to be. I honestly felt blessed. Imagine being on your own in a country where you know no one and you will find a stranger who are just willing to help you. And if it would have not been awkward, I would have hugged and kissed him right there and then <wink wink> just to show my gratitude. So he said goodluck to me and went inside the train station.

I looked at the fare and found out that I only needed TBH 25 to get me to Suthisan. I just thought I’ll keep the TBH 5 coin as remembrance of the guy who helped me out. So I purchased the ticket or rather the tap-up coin and went inside the train station again.

Fortunately, the guy was still there and I approached him and thanked him again. He mentioned that his name was Tho and he worked around the area and is taking the trains two stations forward to get home. He was 31 years old and can speak a little English. He asked me where I was from and I told him from the Philippines and he mentioned that he thought I was Chinese (I had to laugh a little bit there because I was so dark from traveling to be considered Chinese). I told him that I was my first time in Bangkok and I was travelling solo for the first time. Again I insisted to give him my dollar but he again refused saying that it was his help to me with a very heart-warming smile that can melt me.

I still wanted to ask him some questions but the train arrived. And we both got in. I was supposed to stand next to him but it was a bit cramped and he might have had enough of my inquisitiveness and would like to take a rest already. So distanced myself and decided to stand by the door although I was trying to glance at him from time to time and he would be looking at me also (OK, ok.. He is definitely my kind of knight in shining armor!). Two stations forward, I glanced at him again and he was smiling and waving me good bye. I said good bye back before he exited the train. I was just looking at his sort of buffed body with tattoo on the back side of his arm as he blended in to the crowd of commuters. Then I panicked a bit because I have neglected to ask for his Facebook or email address that I can contact him with (FACE-PALM motion!). Must have slipped out of my mind since I on panic mode earlier and was not mentally present to think properly because this dreamy knight in shining armor (with tattoos) just rescued me from having to spend the night on God knows where.

Since I do not have Tho’s contact number and am not actually sure if I got his name correctly, I am writing this post on my blog to search for him. I just want to repay his kindness by sending him over some of my knitted stuff. It would be my way of thanking him.

So if you do know this guy, Tho or if you are from Bangkok, please share this blog post among your friends and help me find him. I just want to extend my thanks again to him. If you do know him, please comment on this post so that I can coordinate with you.

I really appreciate it already

Leave a Reply

